Working Together for a Bright Future

Five inducted into VHS Athletics Hall of Fame

Five of Vineland High School's most celebrated athletes and coaches were inducted on September 23 into the VHS Athletics Hall of Fame at a ceremony held at Vineland High School.

This was the first induction to be held since 2017. The inductees were set to be honored at a ceremony in 2020, which was then postponed due to COVID. 

Master of ceremonies was Don Robbins, Supervisor of Athletics at VHS.

The inductees this year are: Toni Giacomelli-Fritz, Andrea Browne, Joanna Cline, Lee Hull, and Art D’Arrigo (posthumous). 

Those nominated must have met the following criteria:

* graduated from Vineland High School at least ten years ago, and/or;

* was an accomplished head coach at Vineland High School for at least ten years, and;

* participated and excelled in athletics;

* contributed to the community;

* exhibits reputable character.

Also speaking at the ceremony were Superintendent Alfonso Llano; Suzette DeMarchi, principal of VHS; and F. John Sbrana, Board of Education member. Senator Michael Testa, Jr. also congratulated the new inductees and presented each with a proclamation in their honor. Following Testa was the first-ever inductee to the Hall of Fame, Lisa Iori, and Hall of Fame committee chairman Terrence Spencer. Dr. Tom McCann, former principal of VHS and current Hall of Fame selection committee member, led the crowd in the Pledge of Allegiance. Elliot DeShields, coach and teacher at VHS, gave the invocation. 

Details of the extraordinary performance of each athlete are included in the narratives below.

Also honored during the ceremony was Bart Feldman of T&F Camera Shop, who helped create the commemorative book highlighting all 150 members of the Hall of Fame. 

Following the ceremony, guests were invited to view the plaques on the "Wall of Fame" outside the VHS South gym. Each plaque details the accomplishments of all athletes honored since the program started in 1988.

The ceremony was recorded by VPS Broadcasting and can be viewed now on our YouTube channel here: 

Click the following link for a gallery of photos from the event: 

Please click the following links for a narrative of each inductee:

Lee Hull - 

Joanna Cline - 

Toni Giacomelli-Fritz - 

Andrea Browne - 

Art D'Arrigo -