Working Together for a Bright Future

73 students inducted into National Junior Honor Society

Seventy-three students from the Applied Math and Science Academy, Sgt. Dominick Pilla, Veterans Memorial, and Wallace Middle Schools were inducted as new members of the National Junior Honor Society on November 14 at the Landis Administrative Offices.
The highlight of the ceremony was the oath of office, administered to students lining the aisles of a muted auditorium lit only by the candles they held. It was a solemn moment, followed by booming applause and cheers from the large audience of family members and friends who packed the auditorium.
To be considered for National Junior Honor Society, students must have an 86 average or higher in all subjects, show outstanding participation in extracurricular activities, demonstrate leadership abilities, have an outstanding record of community service and an excellent attendance record.
Leadership is based on the student's participation in two or more community or school activities, or election to an office. To meet the service requirement, the student must have been active in three or more service projects in the school and community. Character is measured in terms of integrity, behavior, ethics and cooperation with both students and faculty. Citizenship is assessed by the student's participation in civic-related organizations and/or activities. These are the same standards that apply to the National Honor Society applicants at the high school level.
After a warm welcome from Hope Johnson, principal of Veterans Memorial School, Dr. Mary Gruccio, Superintendent, congratulated the students on their success.
“These are the students who have worked tirelessly to be able to be here and be recognized tonight,” Gruccio said. “It is not easy to achieve what they’ve achieved and it takes a lot of work and dedication.”
The new inductees also heard from Vineland High School principal, Suzette DeMarchi, and VHS National Honor Society President, Nina Caprice, who reflected on how her work with the NHS has made a difference in her life and led to more community involvement and volunteerism.
“I hope your experiences are as special as mine have been in this club,” Caprice said. “To be sitting on this stage tonight is an honor, and you should be deeply proud of yourselves.”
Each of the chapter presidents – Jami Marion, Pilla; Danasia Russell, Veterans Memorial; Sameer Menghani, Johnstone; and Anna Zhu, Wallace - spoke on the organization's ideals and lit a candle signifying their commitment to upholding these principles.
Presenting the inductees were chapter advisors Megan Schultz, Johnstone; Donna DeLouise, Memorial; Renee Carfagno, Pilla; and Michele Chalow, Wallace.

The complete list of inductees:


Kelianne Burgess, Brooke DeMarchi, Edward Fifth, Alysia Finger, Nathan Freites, Landon Gentile-Adamson, Lesly Hernandez, Yalitza Hernandez Vazquez, Hailee Jones, Nicholas Melchiore, Dominic Melchiore, Sameer Menghani*, Brianna Mosley, Angelina Oliva, Rohan Patel, Xavien Phillips, Arshveer Seghal, Lianna Velazquez, and Lawren Whitesell


Matthew Campanella, Alyvia Fred, Kylie Gonzalez, Isabella Infranco, Anthony Jimenez, Jami Marion*, Cheyenne Olivieri, Hannah Rodriguez, Casey Russoman, Michael Sanchez, Jillian Schultz, Gianina Speranza, Sophia Stockbridge, Trista Suppi, and Cheyanne Wilson


Noelle Asselta, Barry Ballurio, Hodaliz Bautista Cruz, Caleb Brown, Michael Cagno, George Cardona, Nora Cleary, Danasia Russell*, Grace Fehrenbach, Dimitra Fotakis, Mikayla Gomez, Denise Gonzalez, Louis Gonzalez, Carla Guzman, Nathaniel Hunter, Helena Jiminez, Jaden Molter Castiglioni, Isabela Saltar, Olivia Smith, Bryanna Snell, Kayla Torres, Kayla Velez, and Kaelin Zheng


Eduardo Arce Jr., Diana Bautista, Pablo Bautista, Gabriela Cumba, Maria Hernandez, Brenda Inglesias Cernas, Daniela Marroquin, Jacole McBride, Asusena Pala Moran, Cristian Quintanilla, Rahsaun Jeffrey, Luz Ramirez Ruiz, Jariely Roman, Furkan Yildiz, Anna Zhu*, and Tina Zhu

Students with a * are chapter presidents


Group photo of inductees

Pictured (L-R): NJHS chapter presidents Anna Zhu, Wallace; Jami Marion, Pilla; Danasia Russell, Veterans Memorial; and Sameer Menghani, Johnstone

VPS Broadcasting was also at the event, and the entire ceremony can be viewed on our YouTube page here: